The Seven Chains on a Master Mason Apron

by MasterMason
Save to PDFPrint to Paper

The Seven Chains on a Master Mason Apron
(author unknown)

This is a bit academic, however it is pertinent and I do hope you enjoy the read.


Seven is a sacred number in Masonic symbolism. In the Rituals of the last century, it was said that a Lodge required seven to make it perfect, but the only explanation to be found of the sacredness is the seven liberal arts and sciences, which according to the old “Legend of the Craft” were the foundation of Masonry. In modern ritual, the symbolism of the number seven has been transferred from the first to the second Degree, where it refers to the seven steps of the winding staircase, but the symbolic seven is to be found diffused in hundreds of ways over the whole Masonic system.

In our Ritual, the ascent of the seven steps is symbolical of the seven liberal arts and sciences. But the seven steps have deeper meaning. They allude to the vibrations producing colour and sound. There are seven colours in the spectrum, of which three are called “Primary”. There are seven notes in the musical scale. Thus, it is said to be a harmonic number, three of which compose the principal chord of the key. The musical scale completely bears out the creative process of evolution. When the scale is played, we ascend to a higher scale, at a higher rate of vibration, and repeat (continue to do what has been done). Herein may be hidden the significance for the lecture urging “a study of Music”.

The sun was the great central planet of the ancient seven, and is represented as the central light in the branched candlestick. The moon is second only to the sun in beauty and splendour, and on every seventh day the moon assumes a new phase. In the Hebrew, Syrian, Phoenician, Chaldaen and Saxon “seven” signifies “full or complete” and every seventh day after the first quarter the moon is complete in its change.

Jacob’s Ladder was a prominent symbol in the early days of symbolic Masonry. The number of rungs was generally seven, namely, Temperance; Fortitude; Prudence; Justice; Faith; Hope & Charity.

Other references to the potency of the number seven include, for example, seven sacred planets, seven days in creation, and seven ages in the life of man. The seventh son of a seventh son was a notable person indeed. Among the Hebrews, every seventh year was Sabbatical. The stories of the Biblical characters often turn up the number seven.

Finally it is said that from the ancient in the sacredness of this number “sprang the theory that man was composed of seven substances and seven natures.


You may also enjoy

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More